I Remember

I remember a time, not long ago

Needing to leave you, not wanting to go

Brother and sister, friends, together always.

Parties and Spurs games, – oh those were the days.

I remember, together, you as a teen

The fighting and arguing and all in between

The laughing and joking till tears filled our eyes.

The cheering and shouting, oh how time flies

I remember those times each day I wake

Not understanding who decides who to take

A husband, a father a good man to all.

I think about this as I stare at the wall

I remember your smile and the faces you’d pull

Wine and champagne, my memories are full

Sitting and talking well into the night

Together, your illness, we vowed to fight.

I remember them saying the treatment went well

I smiled but secretly in my own private hell

Kissing you goodbye I went on my way

I am fine you said,  no need to stay.

I remember that night in July

When I heard and tried not to cry

That phone call we’ve all come to fear

I know I’ll remember those words for years.

I remember you brother always so strong

I thought we could help you, I guess I was wrong.

Leave a comment